Welcome to the website for Connemara National Park


Situated in the West of Ireland in County Galway, Connemara National Park covers some 2,957 hectares of scenic mountains, expanses of bogs, heaths, grasslands and woodlands. Some of the Park's mountains, namely Benbaun, Bencullagh, Benbrack and Muckanaght, are part of the famous Twelve Bens or Beanna Beola range. Connemara National Park was established and opened to the public in 1980.

Much of the present Park lands formed part of the Kylemore Abbey Estate and the Letterfrack Industrial School, the remainder having been owned by private individuals. The southern part of the Park was at one time owned by Richard (Humanity Dick) Martin who helped to form the Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals during the early 19th century. The Park lands are now wholly owned by the State and managed solely for National Park purpose.

View of Diamond Hill from Visitor Centre

Diamond Hill from the Visitor Centre

advgbhkkkkkknnnn advgbhkkkknnnnPhoto of Connemara Ponies

Peacock Butterfly Redadvgbhkkkkkknn ddRed Deer Stags Redadvgkkknn ddRe dadvg RedRed ReConnemara Pony with Foal


For All Special Events & General Enquiries

Please contact the visitor centre for more details: 095 41054, 076 100 2530 or cnp@ahg.gov.ie

Click here for details of what there is to see and do in the Park.


Getting Here

The Visitor Centre and main access for Connemara National Park is located near the village of Letterfrack along the N59. Entry to the park and visitor centre is free of charge. There is no charge for parking. For advice on how to get to Letterfrack and the Park from different places please click here.


National Parks & Wildlife Service, 7 Ely Place, Dublin 2. Phone: +353 1 8883242 Fax: +353 1 8883272